The Werich Villa, formerly also called the Dobrovský house or Engel tannery, is closely connected with the history of Kampa Island. The first mention of the building comes from 1580; later, it was reconstructed by Ignatius John Nepomuk Palliardi into its present Neo-Classical form. Originally, it served as a tannery and then as a tenement house. It was occupied by, for example, Josef Dobrovský, the best-known Czech Enlightenment scientist; Jan Werich and Jiří Voskovec, famous actors and artists; and Vladimír Holan, a Czech poet. In 2002, a large flood hit the villa, and the last tenants had to move out. In 2015, Museum Kampa obtained a lease on the Werich Villa after winning an open public tender.
U Sovových mlýnů 7
At this reading place, visitors can take part in a mini-course on the basics of Czech sign language between readings.